Williamsburg Historical Society Looks Back and Remembers
Discovering Local History in Willamsburg
Saturday, June 2nd
On Saturday, June 2nd the Williamsburg Historical Society is hosting “Day to Look Back and Remember 2012,” a day full of events centered around local history in Williamsburg, MA.
The event begins with a reenactment of a school lesson at the Nash Hill School (117 Nash Hill Road) featuring local students from 10am-11pm. Then from 11am-12noon, there will be a guided tour of the Williamsburg Reservoir Dam, a failed project begun in 1874. The tour will focus on the Mill River Flood, which took place as a result of the dam’s failure (meet at Dunphy School). Finally, from 1-3pm, there will be a cemetery tour covering not only the history of each cemetery, but also the genealogy of early Williamsburg (meet at the Dunphy School). There will also be a historical exhibit on display at the fire department, and cross-generational conversations where participants can tell stories about Williamsburg past and present will take place at the Meekins Library from 12:30-3pm.
The Williamsburg Historical Society offers many community-based educational opportunities to learn about local history throughout the day where families can discover great information about the history of the Hilltowns at any one of these events. For more information, contact the historical society at 413-268-7767.